Welcome!

Hi. I’m Hannah, and I’m a PhD student. Yet this is not intended to be an account of my PhD – a reflection, perhaps, but certainly not a blow-by-blow account of what I read and write on a day-to-day basis. Hopefully it will serve as an outlet to comment upon research in progress as well as topics which lurk around the project’s peripheries and – undoubtedly – a certain amount of unrelated chatter.

Broadly speaking, I am researching the use of culture within urban regeneration; specifically speaking, my PhD is focused on the Manchester International Festival and how it can be used to represent the ways in which Manchester utilises culture – for whom and to what ends. So you can expect a fair bit of rambling about the importance – or otherwise – of culture, and a fair bit about Manchester too. I’m hoping it won’t be too serious; I’m also hoping it might be of interest to some people – and not just to fellow students or academics studying a similar field. I guess we’ll just see what happens.

Leave a Reply

